À PROPOS

Marie Mc Court une réalisatrice franco-danoise. Elle est diplômée depuis 2019 d’un master en réalisation à l’Institut des Arts de Diffusion (IAD).

 

Son film de fin d'études, I was still there when you left me, tourné avec des acteurs non professionnels, a été primé aux Oscars étudiants et a été projeté dans de nombreux festivals prestigieux à travers le monde.

Ces selections en festivals incluent: San Sebastián International Film Festival, Regard Film Festival, Busan International Short Film Festival, Côté Court, Festival International du Film Francophone de Namur...

En parallèle de l’écriture de son premier long métrage et de son second court, elle fait également du casting sauvage. Marie est très inspirée par les personnes qu'elle y rencontre et utilise l'improvisation sur ses tournages pour inclure des détails de la réalité dans ses films.

Marie construit ses personnages en se basant sur des histoires vraies, créant des expériences sensorielles se déroulant dans des contextes dramatiques liés à des problématiques sociales et intimes. Elle écrit des films immersif afin d'utiliser l'empathie comme outil de déconstruction de la banalisation de la violence.

 

Elle est inspirée par le travail de Lynne Ramsay, les frères Safdie, Ruben Östlund, James Blake et Toni Morrison.

MARIE EST TRÈS INSPIRÉE PAR LES PERSONNES QU'ELLE RENCONTRE EN CASTING ET UTILISE L'IMPROVISATION SUR SES TOURNAGES POUR INCLURE DES DÉTAILS DE LA RÉALITÉ DANS SES FILMS.

ABOUT

Marie Mc Court is a Franco-Danish director. In 2019, she graduated from her Masters degree in Directing at the Institut des Arts de Diffusion (IAD) in Belgium.

 

Her graduation film, I Was Still There When You Left Me, shot with first time actors, won at the Student Academy Awards and was screened at prestigious film festivals worldwide, winning multiple awards.

Festival selections include: San Sebastián International Film Festival, Regard Film Festival, Busan International Short Film Festival, Côté Court, Festival International du Film Francophone de Namur and many more… 

While developing her first feature and second short film, she’s also doing street casting. Marie gets a lot of inspiration from the people she meets there and uses improv on set to incorporate details of reality in her work.

She builds her characters on the basis of real life stories, creating sensory experiences embedded in more dramatic social issues and intimate problems. She writes immersive films to use empathy as a tool to break the silent agreement for violence.
 

She’s very inspired by the work of Lynne Ramsay, the Safdie brothers, Ruben Östlund, James Blake and Toni Morrison.

"MARIE GETS A LOT OF INSPIRATION FROM THE PEOPLE SHE MEETS DURING CASTINGS.

SHE USES IMPROV ON SET TO INCORPORATE DETAILS OF REALITY IN HER WORK."